Take that, kilo! (Or rather Bike session #13 = Kolmården – ferry – Östra husby)

After a week of no exercise, I was really starting to feel it get to me a bit and decided to make up for it in style…

I’ve done this course about four times and I think every time has been a slightly different route. Today’s was much nearer the first, except for one big difference: the direction. This was actually the first time I did the course the other way around and I much prefer it. I think getting on the ferry and having a ten minute rest is much better when you have done two thirds of the course, rather than only a third.

It meant I got to see how big that big hill out of the harbour really is too. I have only ever cycled up it, feeling my muscles groan every push of the pedals. This time I came down it at a respectable 49.5 km/h and that was only because I’m a bit of a wuss and put the brakes on quite a bit. I don’t know about you guys but 50 km/h on a bike is not my idea of safety.

Weather was beautiful throughout and apart from a spell of strong winds about 20 mins in, resulting in me only doing 21 km/h downhill (which is unheard of), I was looking good.

Looking back over the four this is my second best cycle. The best being last June, when I had the average speed of 27.1 km/h (which is a mighty speed) and did an impressive 83 km total (that must surely be one of my best routes (and times) ever)!

Still, a week of no cycling at all and to finish off with this makes me smile. It sort of makes up for a week of not doing anything… nearly…

_______________________________________________________
Time: 02:37:03
Distance: 67.65 km
Av.: 25.8 km/h
Max: 49.5 km/h
Calories: 1,261.8
Total for year: 332.31 km

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

