WIP Wednesday (on a Friday)

Adage time, for it’s ‘better late than never’…I suppose!

Well another incredibly busy week at Morrigan Books, saw me learn the wonders of stripping a book down to its bare bones to create an e-book document, ready to add to Amazon and Smashswords. Lessons were learned here, as it makes much more sense to complete this phase before typesetting the book for print. Yes, we know this now!

We’re moving nicely into the e-book world with all our titles, apart from one, now available as an e-book. Requiems for the Departed, the Irish crime anthology edited by Gerard Brennan and Mike Stone is available today only at $3.99 on Smashswords!

There have also been discussions within the team about that December decision time that is looming ever nearer. There are going to be some changes at the company in readiness for 2011. Some big, some not so big. Most of it is stuff behind the scenes, however, and so I’m not sure how much the average person (not that I calling you average – there’s a context demographic here) will see…let’s wait and see eh?

One of the other things I’ve been doing this week is organising my schedule. I feel that I’ve not been working as effectively as I might, due to my tendency to get easily distracted on the net…you all know what I mean…

So I’ve been working out a schedule, focusing on different areas: accounts *shudder*, submissions, reviews (the chasing of), typesetting, mailing, etc., etc. I’ll be putting this into action on Monday (no point today eh, it’s nearly the weekend) so no doubt you’ll get a half-term report on Wednesday next week…

I remember setting up an internet free day once to help with company stuff…hmm…

There’ll be new books though, I guarantee you that, with at least five books now confirmed for 2011. That will actually be our biggest number in a year to date, and we’re not happy with that either. Double figures would not go amiss next year for us…yes, you heard that here first!

And for those following this blog, I have something you may be interested in. I have been noticing a trend in collapsing indie presses over the last couple of years, and, while this has saddened me, both for the publishers in question and those that have books with them, it gives me a chance to offer a publishing opportunity at Morrigan Books.

If you feel your book fits our submission guidelines and you feel you got a raw deal from your publisher then send me a mail and we discuss possibilities with us. Your book needs to be out of contract though, or will be very soon.

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

One response to “WIP Wednesday (on a Friday)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

