Two sides, one coin

Today has just been one of those days, you know them, things are all over the place and you flit between sorrow and joy in equal proportions.

My highest point of joy was having my daddy/Maddoc time, listening to children’s songs and laughing and ‘talking’ to each other. I was also able to write a review that was outstanding for ASif and read through my now-edited short story being released later this year.

Snuggle time with the wife while Maddoc slept was a thoroughly unexpected and wholly pleasing surprise!

I feel like overall it has been a productive day but at the same time there has been this sense of the melancholy hanging over. The clouds have been heavy, the day after my family have returned to England is always a tough moment and especially this time, this being the first time they have visited after my mother’s death. We watched a video of my mum at Christmas yesterday and it is still hard to believe she is not around.

I also got stuck with my film script and the words just would not come, I sat and I looked and looked and sat but nothing…

I was hoping for this big grandiose entry now that I have a break from the World Cup (two days) but it was not to be.

I hope to get on top of friends’ entries soon but you know where I’ve been…

About Mark S. Deniz

English Teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company Morrigan Books and imprint Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

18 responses to “Two sides, one coin

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

