A mini-music review (2006)

As per usual, soon after the New Year mayhem, I tend to read through the best of lists on Metacritic, the website where I find out about most of my music for the year.

Last year I was interested to see that my number one choice Patrick Wolf, was number one on three other lists, my number two, Andrew Bird, was spread out with high scores on a variety and Sufjan Stevens, the god of the 2000s, was number one or two on no less than 22 critics’ lists!

This time, there has been something of a shock in that my number one does not feature on one single best of. How did they miss it? How could they miss it?

My number two, three and four don’t fair that well either and this year starts the belief that not only am I not following popular opinion but that I have nothing in common with the critics either… interesting…

Most of the albums in the charts are albums I have listened to and some make sense as to their position: TV on the Radio’s Return to Cookie Mountain was one that just grew and grew the more you listened to it, and Midlake’s The Trials of Van Occupanther was sublime.

But then some real shocks came up like The Arctic Monkeys taking off from where The Streets left off with some of the most unoriginal music of the decade and the old favourite Bob Dylan, who has been good, is still worth listening to but top spot? I can’t see that.

I noticed the beatles were high too, which didn’t surprise me at all but then nearly fell over when I saw that my number 250 album (of 250) was number 14 on the all time of 2006. My god that album isn’t even music, it was so un-listenable and I got angry when I put it on…

Shows how different we all are when it comes to music…

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

