January, or is it, what is it, what’s going on?

I’ve been away, I know, for the first time ever I wish I could say it has been because I’ve nothing to talk about, that there is nothing going on. It’s actually pretty much been the opposite, both for good and bad. Here’s a little rundown for those missing my usual rants and musings (especially you my new anonymous guest… *winks*)

  • Mum died a year ago yesterday, it wasn’t so much a sorrowful day as a weird day, not knowing what to do, what to think… I have realised though that I am coping with this much better than those around me. 2007 should be a much better year.
  • I’m a bit ick; I was just feeling really tired all day yesterday, which I put down to late nights. It has been but it’s also because of something (god knows what) as I woke up today worse and with every muscle screaming out. Etina was a star and let me stay in bed until around twelve; I needed it.
  • I’m back on paternity leave. There’s lots of reasons for this, right now, just now but all that comes up in another post soon.
  • The film (I wrote) is ready; I watched the finished version today… of course I’m not 100% happy with it but did I ever expect to be? It looks very professional and I am pleased to have been part of that. Looking forward to my next film…
  • I didn’t win (nor get an honourable mention) in the 3-day novel. That means that I’ll be editing the book as either a novella or film script…
  • In Bad Dreams is looking like it has its quota of writers now; we are not 100% sorted with them but expect announcements soon…
  • I’ve read my first book and seen two films (no Borat doesn’t count as I watched less than a third of it).
  • For those expecting CDs from me, they are coming, it’s just that due to another music project and having no printer the last few days (have sold the old one and we are expecting the new one soon).
  • Found out that the start-up grant for new businesses has been cut from six months to three. If I haven’t got my decision (and grant) ready by March there is a good chance it is going to be reduced from three to zero (thanks right wing government!).
  • Was in Stockholm on Friday for a PhD party; wondering whether I should go for that Masters…
  • My head hurts…
About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

