Maddoc and Daddy’s musical journey (update)

Day Six

1975 – Pink Floyd: Wish You Were Here
Maddoc’s verdict: I know this is yours and Mummy’s favourite album of all time and it already makes me react, due to the non-stop playing you both did when I was in the womb. It is special, it really is. 5/5

Day Seven

1976 – Tom Waits: Small Change
Maddoc’s verdict: Now you’re talking, now I get what you mean, oh, this is your fave Tom album? Then that makes a lot of sense; Step Right Up is just fab and there’s a really good mix of stuff here. 4/5

Day Eight

1977 – Pink Floyd: Animals
Maddoc’s verdict: Not hard to see that my daddy is a big Floyd fan eh? This is a quality album, lots of animal noises for me and tunes that I can dance to. 4/5

Day Nine

1978 – Kate Bush: The Kick Inside
Maddoc’s verdict: I know

is a big fan of her and so I don’t want to be too rude but what an absolute pile of tripe (oops, picked up my dad’s level of tact there)! Oh, wait a minute The Man with the Child in his Eyes is quite nice. 1/5

Day Ten

1979 – Pink Floyd: The Wall
Maddoc’s verdict: Wow, this is impressive, loads of cool tunes and much for me to dance to! 5/5

Day Eleven

1980 – Joy Division: Closer
Maddoc’s verdict: I can see we are moving into Daddy’s childhood now. This is a pretty impressive album, made me react quite a few times! 4/5

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

