That speech thang last night

I mentioned having the speech last night, which went well, there’s even a bad quality pic of me in action:


Impressed aren’t you? I can tell!

An interesting question I got after the talk was regarding the network of Live Journal and how my mutual friends list were, in terms of geographical placement. I couldn’t answer the question as I’ve never done the hard maths (maths = syntax error) but I said I would find out as I was interested and so it’s here for your enjoyment:

U.S.A.: 52 of 120 = 43%
Australia: 35 of 120 = 29%
England: 13 of 120 = 11%
Sweden: 5 of 120 = 4%
Canada: 4 of 120 = 3%
Finland: 2 of 120 = 2%
Northern Ireland: 2 of 120 = 2%
Assyrian: 1 of 120 = 1%
German: 1 of 120 = 1%
New Zealand: 1 of 120 = 1%
Norway: 1 of 120 = 1%
Russia: 1 of 120 = 1%
Scotland: 1 of 120 = 1%
Sri Lanka: 1 of 120 = 1%

As you can no doubt see, these are not exact figures as the total is 101% but me not being a maths type, liked the round numbers better.

Well what a shocker, last night I told the audience that I didn’t know the ratio but Australia were easily on top. It seems I forgot you yanks are everywhere! (This list is based on where I understand you to come from and not where you live.)

So there you have it, that’s all I have time for now (what a day it’s been!).

Leave in an orderly (and quiet) fashion…

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

