Bike Tour #8 = ‘Söderköping’, 10th June 2007

After spending quite a bit of Saturday repairing both bikes (both back tyres and changing tyres on mountain bike) I thought it was time to go for a long cycle Sunday.

Deciding to set off at 16:30 was always going to bring its own problems, as the temperature was a tad hot and I was a little worried about fatigue.

However, none of that proved to be a problem as within five minutes of leaving the flat, the back tyre of the racing bike exploded, halting any option of going out on that bike until I had returned to the shop and asked them what the hell they meant when they stated there was nothing wrong with the valve!

I walked back home with the racing bike and got the old trusty beast (mountain bike) out and set off for an entirely different route (at least an hour shorter).

I realised I had only done this exact route once before and that was last year with my friend Per. On that occasion he had the beast and I had my racing bike (as he currently has no bike).

It’s a really nice route, going down through some really scenic areas and plaguing me with a couple of hard work hills. Wind was a problem as I would get up to some decent speeds whilst cycling downhill only to find the wind acting as a powerful brake when least needed anddropping my average speeds quite significantly.

Ayway it was the longest cycle of the year so far at exactly 2 hours and considering my recent spate of bad luck with the two bikes, pretty enjoyable.

Time for the pics:


Just outside the small village of Tåby, a couple of rune stones


On the bank of the Göta Kanal, having tea and a banana (very near Söderköping’s golf course)!


Early evening on the canal


Looking towards the start of my least favourite hill.

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

