Bike Tour #9 = Norrköping area, 11th June 2007

This was the route with which I started the year, I needed a shorter route (around an hour) and I wanted something that was impossible to do on the racing bike. I also felt like it was maybe the day to beat a record.

The peak of my cycling was in 2005, when not only did I do most of my routes but it was also this year that I spent my time setting records and then breaking them.

This route was not only one of the favourites of that year but one in which I set one of my better records, one that cannot be attempted with the racing bike, due to the amount on farmland and gravel roads I cycle on.

I saw that my record was 1hr and 6mins and went off to beat it, hoping the beast was going to keep in one piece as it really is in need of a service now.

There were some hair raising moments on this one as I wanted to check out the tread on the new tyres and that meant going down one of Norrköping’s biggest hill, relying on them and not my brakes, as I usually do. I nearly came off, the bike did its job and I breathed a sigh of relief and lessened my grip on the handlebars as my knuckles were indeed white!

As I came to end of the course I saw that I was not going to make the record. I pedalled as fast as I could though to make as good a time as possible and came in at 1hr 10mins, which at first I was unhappy with, seeing as I was four minutes behind my goal but then read through my previous times and saw that this was the third best time on this course, a course that I cycled to death in 2005!

I also knocked four minutes off my first run of the year which was less than two months ago!

No pics for this one as I didn’t stop and you’ve seen the best of them on the first post…

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

