Bike Tour #10 = Norrköping area, 14th June 2007

Well we’re two months into the tours now and so ten is not that great a number, however that’s more due to a weak April and May as June has started off brilliantly.

This route became my first record of the year, sounds good but only because I’d never actually done it before, so it would have been a record if I’d walked it!

I did good though, with the strong winds (9 metres per second) making life interesting in the first half of the route, my speeds never better on the trusty mountain bike, and then on the way back there was some serious struggling against buffeting winds, and, the occasional flying branch (yes it was that bad)!

Most of this course I’ve already done this year but I had to go and pump the tyres up and so took a little detour into town (air pump) before making my way along the route (hence the new record).

Today is where I’m going to start with my statistics for each cycle, especially for further record attempts. I know there is a real danger of instilling a sense of dread on my flist when the posts come up but remember these were mainly for my own records. Sorry about the pics this time but I forgot the camera…

Time: 01:03:39
Distance: 24.37 km
Average Speed:  23 km/hr
Max. Speed: 40 km/hr
Calories: 412.9

Pretty much everything is spot on here except the calorie counter. I’m not sure how it gets that score as there is nothing attached to me when I cycle (reading-wise) but I guess it works on some average and it gives me an idea of what’s going on…

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

