Something new for this year…

I usually keep quiet about the year’s music until December and then surprise you all with the gems I have uncovered in the previous twelve months.

This year I felt like giving you a bit of a half-year report, as I’m curious as to what’s been floating your respective boats so far.

There are not many major contenders for the top spot as yet; I know we are only half way through but I had already heard three of my five of 2005 by this point and so I’m curious as to what’s on its way over the next six months.

Kristin Hersh was a contender extremely early on this year with the amazing Learn to Sing Like a Star (don’t even ask me to count how many times I’ve played this one) before newcomers The Twilight Sad hit the scene with their breathtaking Fourteen Autumns and Fifteen Winters. Any who haven’t checked out those two need to find them and find them quick!

We then have The National’s amazing The Boxer. I hadn’t heard them before but after doing a bit of backcataloguing (thanks

!) I can safely say that this is their best. It’s haunting, it’s funky, it’s… well it’s ace!

Following these two like a jet powered jet ski (err?) is U.N.K.L.E. back with the addictive War Stories and the old faves the Smashies with Zeitgeist. Zeitgeist can’t make its mind up but it has some gems of classic Pumpkins brilliance along with some Zwan/Billy Corgan tosh!

Read a quote in a forum the other day regarding the band:

“Oh how can you not like The Smashing Pumpkins, that Billy Pumpkin is great, how can you not love his lyrics, you know I heard Landslide on Pisces Iscariot and just thought ‘man this man can write’?”

And with this I say adieu.

What you lot listening to again?

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

