After the Rain

September Rain:

Zokutou word meterZokutou word meterZokutou word meter
15,061 / 50,000
(29.0%)

(lookie, there is a new title!)

The 1,195 word count stayed as it was yesterday and left me all kinds of mountains to climb for the remainder of the month. At the very least, I have begun a book that I really like as a concept and regardless of what happens between now and the 30th, I am keeping hold of this one and working on it when I can in 2008.

Things got a little better yesterday and there is a long way to go but lots of love to help it get there.

Dexter has been consistently great and Supernatural is rocking along nicely too. It’s a shame Heroes is a shadow of its former self and for a change I’m not surprised that they are talking about it only lasting for two or three episodes more as I don’t think it’s got what it takes any longer.

Two shows I started with over recent weeks but gave up with nearly as quickly were Eureka and Pushing Daises, as neither gave me any sense that they were going to improve. The first I managed to watch the hour and a half pilot, turned it off and instantly forgot about it. Daises was intriguing enough to make me watch episode two but then I did something I haven’t done for a while and turned it off twenty minutes in. It’s quirky, yes, it’s charming but I feel like it’s an amalgamation of a few shows and doesn’t do a lot different and in fact, has a one idea hook, that I thought got tiring less than an hour into the series.

But remember pop pickers, BSG is coming soon and Razor was bloody brilliant!

[Edit: Have just racked up 130 albums from 2007 as the cut-off point approaches and their are some giants this year!]

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

