2008 means assessing 2007 resolutions

Normally I would summarise the year on 31st December and then attempt to add the new resolutions as soon after 1st Januaryas possible. In truth I haven’t actually thought about any resolutions this year but had at least decided if I do them they would run from today until 12th November, as I agree that this New Year is the arbitrary one and the year between my birthday is the real ‘New Year’. Let’s see what happens there.

Anyway here was 2007 in resolution form:

(have just realised that the ‘Zokutou Word Counter’ is not working and so this is to be a draft version of the original.)

(have also just realised that I have various documents I can’t access, due to my recent computer problems and so they will need to be updated too.)

Health:

Water consumption (in litres):
I began this with a chart, thinking this might help me to achieve the goal. I could see quite early on that that wasn’t a good idea and moved onto a normal wordy assessment. The first half of the year was really good and over my cycling summer I drunk much water. This last half of the year has been terrible and I consider this a failed resolution.

Weight loss (in kilos):
3 kilos out of a hoped for 6. The end of the year sees me weighing less than the beginning and that is a real plus. I hold my hands up to a failed resolution though.

Exercise (twice a week):
72 out of a possible 102. This figure is different when taking into account how long the sessions were but that needs an inaccessible document. Will be looking to update this sometime soon. However, another failure.

Life:

Move home:
Showing what a difference a year makes. This was a dead certainty that we would be leaving this flat and this city before year’s end. Lots of things have happened this year but the big decider would seem to be losing our brother. I think Etina’s parents need Maddoc around just now and I haven’t got the heart to deny them that.

Meet 5 people on flist:

Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter
18 / 5
(360.0%)

The total here is 18, making this a 360% success rate. After a few failures in this section, this was a great one to achieve, especially seeing as I got a real kick out of it!

Films seen:
This is another I can’t access but due to the fact I had already succeeded here and after my mammoth film month in December, this ended up even looking a bit solid with around 70 films seen I think.

Literature:

Books read:
I started the year with Jonathan Stange and Mr. Norrell, which I still haven’t finished. I managed 35 out of 52 and although it’s a failure, I never would have gone for 52 had I known how much the editing would take out of me. Saying that though there were lots of game moments this year and in truth I could have read 52.

Best of the bunch was A Scanner Darkly by Philip K. Dick

Dickens books:

Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter
1 / 4
(25.0%)

Pretty much the same from year start. I add it every year and fail every year. I may just not add this for 2008.

Writing:

Short Stories:

Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter
7 / 12
(58.3%)

I’m still not 100% about this as there are stats I can’t access. If it’s not 7 it’s 8 and that still makes it a failure. I can’t say I’m annoyed at this though as there’s been something telling me my short story production was going to be affected by editing and publishing.

ASif reviews:

Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter
5 / 12
(41.7%)

This really annoyed me as I thought it was doable and I have two that are written and just waiting for an edit. *sighs*

SF Reader reviews:

Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter
4 / 12
(33.3%)

This one fell apart early on and has also really annoyed me. I think reivews is going to be one of my key areas next year, especially when I think of how impatient I get waiting for them…

Edit book:
This is an interesting one now, as I didn’t even look at this book all year but instead started another. I think this is another area that may get some attention in 2008, as I think my editing skills may be more apparent than my writing.

Find publisher for In Bad Dreams:
Well this didn’t go according to original plans but the result was far more rewarding! Not only did we find a publisher but we published it and launched it!

Start publishing company:
This was achieved in big style and is accompanied by a jazzy website and the aforementioned book!

There seems to be more failures on the list than successes, although in truth the majority of the successes are much bigger and it is also a big list. I was pushing it with this one and it proves my belief about these things, which is I draw up a list that I think is doable but not easy and then I challenge myself. If I don’t succeed with everything, I don’t automatically see it as a failure, more of a way to assess the previous year and set myself up for the next.

I’m very pleased with Eneit Press and In Bad Dreams and very disappointed with the reviewing stats. Everything else is in the background.

That was 2007.

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

