Is it just me or…

Has anyone suffered the same with Mr. R. R. Martin?

I read his first three books in the Song of Ice and Fire series in 2006 and loved them, having all three in my top five books of that year, with A Storm of Swords at number one.

I eventually got around to starting book four: A Feast for Crows, a couple of weeks ago and I am bored stupid. Unfortunately some of this is due to memory loss when certain characters are mentioned but I think a great deal is to do with him shifting the focus of characters to those I am not too interested in. It seems that book four is a real in between kind of book, creating a bridge between three and five.

I am so struggling to get through it and more than once have closed the book mid-chapter, something I very rarely do.

Anyone else having/had this problem with book four or is it indeed just me?

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

