Ditmar nominations are out

and only a couple of my nominations made it to the shortlistfor the Ditmars, which was Alisa Krasnostein for best fan production for ASif! and Deborah Biancotti‘s wonderfully dark and dismal A Scar for Leida, which is contained in Russell B. Farr‘s, Fantastic Wonder Stories and which I voted for best short story.

Farr’s anthology is really doing the rounds at the moment and I can understand why, reading what I have so far, it’s a book rich in talent and brimming with excellent stories, my faves of the moment being the aforementioned work by Deborah and Martin Livings‘, There was Darkness, which I also voted for.

None of the In Bad Dreams stuff got a look in again but I am not as upset as I thought I would be. I’m amazed that Warren‘s Cooling the Crows has missed out on the two most recent Australian awards but this is what it’s all about, it’s not often I understand the Oscars either… *smirks*

No, really there has been some wonderful stuff this year and I’m just pleased that we got off the starting blocks in good speed, I mean some of these nominated publishing houses and editors are really old hands at this and Eneit Press is not even a year old yet. There is time and we are learning all the time.

I was just wondering if I had said the wrong thing when I mentioned that we had so many quality stories for In Bad Dreams – Volume Two already, as we had a really drop off in submissions towards the end of the week. In fact, just mere minutes ago, we got our first sub of the weekend. Two weeks today…

Right, better go and get that new sub read!

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

