Music and Film

There has been much of the former and little of the latter this weekend, although I may catch up with that after hearing about another three Spanish horror films out and about. I will be writing a little review of the Spanish horror film after I’ve seen them, as I’m pretty much in awe of the Spanish horror scene at the moment and feel that no other country is coming close to them, not by a long shot!

Anyway pop pickers, the top ten albums of 2008, as we are nearly half way through:

  1. Portishead: Third – it’s a fantastic album from start to finish, takes a little time to sink in but when it does you’ll find yourself with headaches from your withdrawal symptoms if you go a couple of hours without playing it!
  2. Lightspeed Champion: Falling off the Lavender Bridge – took much longer than Portishead to get going but has some really top tunes on it, keeps me going when I need to.
  3. The Helio SequenceKeep your Eyes Ahead – very similar to Lightspeed, in terms of feel and accessibility and also has a couple of gems on it.
  4. Eels: Meet the Eels (Essential Eels) – won’t be in the final reckoning, as it’s a best of but it’s great to have a compilation of one of my favourite bands.
  5. Nine Inch Nails: Ghosts – atmospheric and great for writing. I’ve been jotting a lot of Nex to this album. And Slips has just come out so let’s see where that is!
  6. Eels: Useless Trinkets – another that won’t be in but what a gem to have – all those tracks you loved but missed, as they were on soundtracks or b-sides, etc.
  7. Thrice: The Alchemy Index: Vols. III & IV – this came as a bit of a surprise as I so wasn’t in the mood for it the first time. It has at least two contenders for song of the year and is a strong album.
  8. Elbow: The Seldom Seen Kid – should be higher but I’m struggling with it, not matching the greats of previous albums for me.
  9. The GutterTwins: Saturnalia – every year needs one of these off the wall type albums and this may well climb!
  10. Kaki King: Dreaming of Revenge – very mellow and easy listening (for me) but has a feel that I like that I haven’t fully put my finger on.

Well that’s how it looks so far – of course the end of the year will be very different but I was curious to see how things were looking, weren’t you?

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

