Before I get some heavy typesetting done…

(And seeing as I was tagged by both

and

)


“List seven songs you are into right now. No matter what the genre, whether they have words, or even if they’re not any good, but they must be songs you’re really enjoying now, shaping your summer. Post these instructions in your blog along with your 7 songs. Then tag 7 other people to see what they’re listening to.”

So, the top seven songs in my world today (for tomorrow will be different) …

1. Triple Sun: Coil – I can almost here pete23 saying about f**king time here (but without the asterisks). It’s taken me a while to get into them but I’ve been giving them a fair run of late and enjoying them. This track is without a doubt one of the best instrumentals I have heard and it’s so painful, beautiful and exquisite (great for wrtting, pondering and editing)!

2. To Pluto’s Moon: My Brightest Diamond – One of my big finds of last year (thanks to being int Sufjan and checking out the Asthmatic Kitty label) and I only got this album yesterday. I adore the Shara Worden’s voice and think she has such presence and sexuality. This is fastly becoming my favourite song of the year, as it’s detailed, has beautiful lyrics and a harp (and those who know me, know you can’t go wrong with a harp).

3. Home Life: Shearwater – Was getting a bit impressed with this album and then realised that two of the band are from Okervill River, which makes a lot of sense. It has a power and an energy and is very atmospheric. Tracks like this are helping me work.


4. Nylon Smile: Portishead
– On

‘s seven too and with good reason. It is easily the best on this album, such raw energy and the way Beth Gibbons delivers it is excellent. Could possibly be Portishead’s best ever song.

5. The Blind Man: God Machine – Sorry to those writing other songs for my antho but this is the highlight. It’s one of the most painful songs I’ve ever listened to and it’s like a reverse energy effect for me as it keeps me going.

6. The Unshockable: Maxïmo Park – Big thanks to

for this band! This album has been played a hell of a lot recently and just pumps with energy. I’ve even used this when running and got a decent time too. A political album delivered in just the right way and while this might not be my favourite, it’s a joyous tune!

7. Machine Gun: Portishead – Because it took so long to get into and because it is so grating, it makes me react and I love reacting to music. It’s a powerful song and needs listening to at high volume!

I throw my baton towards –

,

,

,

,

,

and

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

