Stuff going on on a Wednesday

Thanks to all comments and mails and such yesterday, was much appreciated and put a smile on my face!

And so recent changes in lifestyle have resulted in me reading at a much faster pace and being able to watch a few films and DVDs in the to-watch pile.

I watched Down by Law finally on Monday and am annoyed at how it could have taken me this long to see it, ever since we were refused entry to a Barcelona art house cinema for turning up late nine years ago it has been on my mind.

Jarmusch is on top form, as usual, and the dynamics between Tom Waits, John Lurie and Roberto Benigni is sublime. For those interested in characterisation the film is a must. I also have Night on Earth waiting and I’m ashamed I haven’t seen this yet either. I will, I will.

I’ve been watching Planet Earth too and it’s a majestic documentary series. Having been a fan of Attenborough for many years (Wildlife on One, Life on Earth) I have only come to this late, due to the series being dubbed into Swedish upon its arrival on these shores.

I have no problem listening to Swedish, it being a fine language, but as a replacement for David on a natural history documentary – I’m sorry it’s just so wrong it smells of wrongness.

Big news over at Morrigan Books today, you bored yet? *winks*

I also got one of the coolest reviews of my short Corvus ever yesterday. Mike Stone, rather well respected author himself said:

"I immediately read Corvus, and **** me, Mark, you can write!"

He sounds shocked there, when I think about it but he claims that was not what he meant…

I asked if I could use his name on the quote and he went and hit me with another compliment, comparing it to Garry Kilworth, one his heroes and a damn fine writer!

I’ve also been doing some editing for some rather fine stories being sent to various places, and have been working on a couple of pieces myself that I had thought overdue on the publications.

It’s looking good, there is much to smile about today!

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

