Some musings I felt needed to be here as well as on the community

Had a chat with xjenavivex and she agreed it was probably the best time to do this too, especially as I don’t really have time for it… *winks*

I’ve decided to follow MG’s example and give the series a level of uniformity…

Ok so my writing life:

Morrigan Books/Gilgamesh Press
MG mentioned the ezine and so I thought I should maybe mention these two. Gilgamesh Press is nice and quiet, there is not a lot going on there at the moment, mainly due to the fact that our first book doesn’t come out until 2010. There are no open submissions running and there are only four queries to look at. Gilgamesh Press is a beast that will rear its ugly head next year methinks.

Morrigan Books on the other hand is like a wild animal on wild pills, it’s thrashing around, creating havoc, internally and externally and it’s one hell of a ride, just ask the team! Thankfully the submissions for The Phantom Queen Awakes has started slowly, as that gives us time to concentrate on our three first releases and dealing with our queries, which seems to have progressed to around four a day!

Lobo_Luna
I very much agree that the community hitting the white list is such a positive. I’m very much enjoying being here and being a mod and I’m trying to maintain some sort of balance within the community. That has failed, as I am very prolific for a few days (see the opening week and the last few days) and then disappear for long periods (see last week). I think this is fine for members but as a mod I need to have a presence. I’m getting there though and the mod squad is a great little team and easy to work with.

I was keen to be involved when I was asked to come along, I am very pleased that I now have a poetry mentor (encouraging me to send a poem away) and I am enjoying my interactions with the three that I mentor too.

Due to the community I am able to see the areas that I need to focus on more and those not so much and I see that as a real strength in the group.

My Writing
I keep saying I’m not writing and it’s actually a lie. Not an intentional one but more of a case of the philosophical question of what is writing? Confused? I will explain.

I am not putting words on the computer or on paper. Therefore I am not writing, in a very literal use of the word. However, what if I say I have a story going around in my head about a cyclist in a post apocalyptic world who is on the run from two men on motorbikes. Am I not writing?

What about the story of a murdered man, about how he sees the killing blow before narrating those last few moments of his life, does life flash before his eyes, does he regret what he has not done, does he feel at piece with himself? Is that not writing?

How about the flash piece, the man on the rocks by the sea with his boy, about a fall, about concussion, about realisation? Still not writing?

No, I am writing and it’s due to the fact that I am writing in my head where the problem lies. Because when I get like this, I can’t sleep. The stories keep milling around in my head, vying for attention, and of course, resolution. The fact that I ignore them, try to get on with my day job, look after my son, relax, is not good enough for the stories. They crave attention, lot’s of it, and I’m not giving them it.

I have my two collections constantly in my mind too: one of them requiring me to dig out some songs, with lyrics I feel I and the person collaborating with me can easily turn into a classic story. This has been one hell of a challenge but one that I am loving every second of, I mean, it’s music and writing, how can that not be the most fun ever?

Funnily enough though I’ve stopped listening to music whilst I cycle (due to safety reasons) and that means that I think about things in a whole new way. I mean when I cycled before I thought about stories whilst being distracted by the lyrics, whilst feeling the lyrics invade my story and attempt to manipulate it, change it.

Now, it’s a case of just letting the thoughts flow, feeling the story create itself in tune to my feeling the air on my face, exploring the wonderful Swedish countryside and pushing myself to even better times, better sessions. (Thankfully no motorbikes as yet!)

You know writing this has made me realise how MUCH I am actually writing at the moment, from reviews, to posts, articles, flash fiction, novel, collections, it’s pretty much all go isn’t it?

Thank you for reading and thank you for this opportunity to vocalise my thoughts; I needed it!

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

