And in October I shall mostly be listening to…

There’s a blog around, which details what books are currently being read (by the author of the blog you see) and which books are due to be read and it got me to thinking that I could bore you with what I’ll be listening to in the month of October and beyond.

Mark’s to-listen to list:

Kings of Leon: Only by the Night – am three tracks in and this is as good as they’ve ever been – could be their best yet!

Lambchop: Oh (Ohio) – still yet to be as amazed as I was by Is a Woman (my third favourite album of all time) but hoping for good things.

TV on the Radio: Dear Science – these guys had a tune in my best of for 2006 and so I’m looking forward to this.

B.B. King: One Kind Favor – blimey it’s been a while!

Ani DiFranco: Red Letter Year – sometimes brilliant, sometimes not so but always interesting and always provocative.

Emiliana Torrini: Me and Armini – I thought her first album was okay and even though her Gollum’s Song, was a bit naff, I’m still interested.

Glasvegas: Glasvegas – debut album and so have no idea of the sound.

Mercury Rev: Snowflake Midnight – these guys have done some lovely stuff over the years.

Mogwai: The Hawk is Howling – I’m not sold on this lot but I always give them a try.

Noah and the Whale: Peaceful – not heard these before.

Pivot: O Soundtrack my Heart – also new for me.

The Uglysuit: The Uglysuit – also new.

Tindersticks: The Hungry Saw – These guys have done some fantastic stuff over the years.

And there you have it.

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

