Follow up for the October listening sessions

Mark’s stuff on the turntable:

Kings of Leon: Only by the Night – was waxing lyrical about this a bit too early. It is good and I think the opening track Closer is brilliant. I think I need a few more listens.

Lambchop: Oh (Ohio) – has some harking back to Is a Woman and overall is very good. I don’t think it’ll be in the final list though.

TV on the Radio: Dear Science – it’s good on first few listens. I’m not sure if it’s got as much as their previous offer but we’ll see.

Emiliana Torrini: Me and Armini – my thoughts here are that if you are going to try and be Björk then you need to do a bit more than you’re doing. Overall it’s not very good and two or three tracks are painful actually.

Mercury Rev: Snowflake Midnight – only one listen and it sounded ok.

Mogwai: The Hawk is Howling – first listen and it’s pretty good, even though not sold yet.

Pivot: O Soundtrack my Heart – instrumental, which I generally like as a track or two but not an album. The track titles really bug me too!

Tindersticks: The Hungry Saw – nowhere near what they are capable of. First two listens grab me.

About Mark S. Deniz

Certainly, Mark. Here's the revised bio: Mark is a versatile individual with a deep love for language and literature. As an English teacher, writer, editor, and publisher, he has immersed himself in the world of words. Mark is the founder of Morrigan Books and the imprint Gilgamesh Press, where he nurtures and promotes literary talent. When he's not engrossed in the literary realm, Mark can be found indulging in his passion for TV and film, alongside cycling, exploring new music, and devouring books. His diverse interests and creative pursuits reflect his vibrant and dynamic approach to life. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a comment