Music stuff

I just noticed that My Brightest Diamond are now the most played artist on this here computer since I got that Last.fm thang. God Machine in second place? What is the world coming too?

I’ve been a bit up and down with new stuff over recent weeks, what with having to use headphones a lot (as Etina is home now), which gets less comfortable for the ears as the hours go on and due to a bit of nostalgia playing, after trying to get into Metallica’s new one, and struggling.

Some stuff that has found its way into this little corner is:

Murder by Death: Red of Tooth and Claw – I did get this earlier in the year but have only recently realised its brilliance. I had some stuff for download here a few weeks ago I think.

Noah and the Whale: Peaceful – Now I’m not sure about this one and it does have a bit of a whimsical feel to it that I don’t really go for. However, one of the tunes features on Match of the Day (which only mylefteye in the whole of my flist watches, I think) and has held on to me for that reason. It’s cheery, it might get you bouncing around and so here it is, let me know what you think:

Noah and the Whale – 5 Years Time

Kings of Leon: Only by the Night – initial views were optimistic, it’s not keeping hold of me and I can feel it slipping away. Shame as the first track is class.

Lambchop: Oh (Ohio) – it’s growing on me but it has work to do. Basically nothing they can ever do can come up to Is a Woman, the third best album ever made, it’s just hard facts.

TV on the Radio: Dear Science – also getting there but slowly. I can’t even guess where this will be come December 31st.

Shearwater: Rook – best album cover of the year and if you are a fan of Okervill River then you need to be listening to this.

What am I missing? What have you lot got as your 2008 gems?

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

