Time for a change – and this one is a big one

It’s become very apparent to me, over the last couple of months, that my time on here has lessened greatly. One reason, which was obvious very early on, was the time constraints in the shape of my family, with both maddoc_deniz and audrey_deniz now, and the business.

However, one thing I didn’t really think about but that was bothering me unconsciously was the double role I feel as Mark Deniz, owner of Morrigan Books and as Mark Deniz, writer, music lover and all round waffler and how that affects my net use.

I don’t feel like I have a definite readership here anymore and it feels more like there is a real eclectic mix of reasons for people being here. this can of course be a good thing but I get the impression that is not the case here. Over the last few weeks I’ve had people e-mailing and commenting on LJ about feeling like this LJ is not what they thought it was – either it’s too work related and not enough about me or that I tend to waffle on about music and not enough about books and publishing and the like. I know there are structures such as friends locked posts and filters and such but I’ve not found that they work for me. I want to write about Morrigan Books and what it’s up to and what I’m doing professionally but I also want to talk about me and what makes me tick.

The reasons for the latter are over on my new personal journal, sunlit_oakk, which is to be a friends only journal and which you are welcome to friend if you feel like you come under that umbrella. Because the journal is completely friends locked I’ll pp my first post there here, so you know where you are going if you friend me there:

This is me, I mean the real me, this is the me that began to surface around four years ago on here and due to becoming a book publisher and having media worthy events transpire within the family (that we wanted the media to leave well alone), I feel that ‘me’ has been buried under work and censors.

It was enough and today I’ve decided to go back to talking about me, about the things that matter to me and mine. Of course business will pop here from time to time it will be about me and what is going on in my life.

If you were around in the beginning then you know what to expect – and if you weren’t then you might just get a surprise. Hope it’s a nice one!

I’ll be explaining why I picked such a strange(ish) username soon but for now I just want to bask in the freedom of this, of being able to talk about my things, on my terms.

markdeniz is to be me but my business stuff, professional writing and the like.

Of course you can have both but this gives you a chance to decide what it is you’re here for. If you just want lots of stuff about Morrigan Books, Gilgamesh Press and the books then you want to be here. If you just want all the juicy goss and you’re genuinely interested in Mark Deniz the person then you want to be over at sunlit_oakk. Of course if you want both then you just stay here and add the other – simple eh?

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

