Launch report – Kulturnatten, Norrköping, 26th September 2009

So first was a rather lovely convention in England (previous post), followed by a launch of a rather different kind as this was Kulturnatten, Norrköping’s yearly celebration of all things of a cultural nature.

Now, before I get into too deep an analysis here, you need to know one thing and that is that Norrköping is about as cultural as a packet of soggy ready salted crisps…you’re getting where this is headed aren’t you?

To be honest I was not expecting any sort of success here, as this is not a convention and not even an event focused on books in general, as music, food, and folklore all had their place. My location today was at a table in the entrance hall of the town’s main library (yes it has a few, with no plans to knock any down – like I just saw in my hometown last week) and a rather good view of all the comings and goings at that location were afforded.

Everything started off well, as within twenty minutes of sitting there I was interviewed by one of the local papers (Norrköpings Tidningar) and had a good chat with a couple about Swecon, which the mighty Graham Joyce is at this year, and which Morrigan Books may well have a table in the dealers’ room – meaning I expect to see Mr. Savile and Mr. Duns there…

However, things slowed down pretty quickly and it wasn’t long before I was counting how many times I’d heard comments about not liking horror fiction, with my tired old response of ‘Do you like crime fiction then?’. Bet you can’t guess their answer…

One of the best examples of this cultural vacuum was the poetry readings, which took place behind me and had an audience of eight, two of which were part of the troupe and one who was one of the town’s drunks and quite clearly asleep. I know poetry isn’t one of the big things these days (or any days) but eight people? They asked if any of the audience wanted to come up and read a poem to fill in some time and I was so tempted to attack them with my witch poem, Maleficus, but I have trouble remembering two of the lines off by heart. I’d post that here but it’s just been accepted to a magazine and I am afeared in case it goes against contract.

So what did we sell? Well we sold one copy of Grants Pass, one copy of Dead Souls and one copy of the hardback of The Even (the latter bought by a massive Gaiman fan, who thought the blurb for Moore’s book sounded like his cup of tea). And I didn’t even have to look at my notes to remember them😉

Still, I thought today was worth it, as I’m making people take notice of our company, I had a few requests for information, gave out several postcards and business cards and am fully aware that these things are totally necessary in this industry of ours.

I’ll keep you updated on our next venture.

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

2 responses to “Launch report – Kulturnatten, Norrköping, 26th September 2009

Leave a Reply

