The 13 Gods/Goddesses of Modern Music – The Intro

I’ve been asked by a few people what I’m talking about here, and after Amanda Pillar‘s (my in-house editor’s) comments about elitism in literature and music today, I thought what better day to hit you with some prime elitism of my own.

For yes, I am very elitist when it comes to music and for good reason. I mean there is so much crap out there that is basically fed to us on a daily basis: on radio stations, in shopping centres and at venues and, to be honest, most of us don’t put a whole lot of effort into thinking about music or looking for great new music, as we know what we like, and I think we should. I think there are so many wonderful artists out there who get overlooked for a multitude of reasons, most of them bad.

So I shall start my little mission of elitism by encouraging you to have a listen to some great, truly great music by introducing you to thirteen artists who pretty much always know how to rock my world, my socks and pretty much anything else that comes to mind. Some of these artists will be know to all of you, some not so much. For by saying that I search high and low for great music does not mean that it is always hard to find. Some of these may have been on your radio stations for years.

So get yourselves ready for at some point in the next few hours I am going to hit you with the first of the thirteen.

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

