Tough decision on new books

It was a decision I had to make, one that was hard in the making but one that I have to stick to. I have made a promise to myself not to buy any new books until December 2010 for two very important reasons: the first is due to the work I’ve been doing in the flat over the week in packing, organising and moving around 400 books or so up into our attic storage space in an attempt to get the flat back to looking like a home, rather than a storage warehouse. The second choice is a simple case of economy.

I know this is going to kill me, especially when thinking about the chat I had with Michael Stone the other week about buying stuff by friends and contacts, partly out of interest, partly out of support. I have always been big on the argument that as an indie press publisher I can’t complain about people not buying our books if I’m not buying other people’s and I have made a point of buying books by a lot of the people I have worked with.

However, this means I can actually start reading some of those I bought and that can’t be all bad can it?😉

I decided to put a little list together so you can see what is on my list over the next few weeks/months. I may add to this a little later but these are the ones I’m going to start with:

Fourtold: Michael Stone
Lowside of the Road – A Life of Tom Waits: Barney Hoskyns
Innocent When You Dream – Tom Waits – The Collected Interviews: Mac Montandon (ed.)
Beneath the Surface: Simon Strantzas (only a couple left to read – an excellent collection)
Creeping in Reptile Flesh: Robert Hood
The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror: Stephen Jones (ed.)
Collected Works: Nick Wallace (ed.) (I’m in this!)
The Manhattan Project: Jake Packard (promised to read and review it and am halfway through it – not enjoying it at all)
Fantastic Wonder Stories: Russell B. Farr (ed.) (About two thirds into this)
Troy: Simon Brown
Bull Running For Girls: Allyson Bird
Crosstown Traffic: Stuart Coupe, Julie Ogden & Robert Hood (eds.)
Hanteringen av odöda: John Ajvide Lindqvist
Year’s Best Australian SF & Fantasy – Volume Two: Bill Congreve & Michelle Marquardt (eds.) (Think I’ve read most of this)

I’m sure whilst organising the last of the books I’ll find more but for now that’s my list.

And yes, I found the other pile just a few moments ago…😉

Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell: Susanna Clarke
The Lions of Al-Rassan: Guy Gavriel Kay
The Priestess and the Slave: Jenny Blackford
Bound for Evil: Tom English (ed.)
Svavelvinter: Erik Granström

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

8 responses to “Tough decision on new books

  • Robert Hood

    I’m glad to see that “Creeping in Reptile Flesh” made it on, Mark!

  • David

    Wow, that’s a big decision.

    Even though you might find it interesting to read “Hanteringen av odöda”, I’m afraid it might be a bit of a let down. I found it so badly written that I couldn’t even finish reading it. Lina thought it was OK, so there is always that glimmer of hope.

    • markdeniz

      Did you read the first? I enjoyed it a lot but wondered what all the fuss was about, as though it was something new on the scene (I suppose it was for Sweden but considering I’ve been reading this stuff all my life)…

  • Mike Stone

    God, it makes me nervous to see my book at the top of that list!

    About halfway through the Voices antho at the mo and ’tis very good indeed, IMHO. When I’ve cleared the Christmas spending in January I’ll be relieving you of one or two of those 400 books in your attic.🙂

    • markdeniz

      Lovely, I like to see fellow authors all anxious!😉

      Glad you’re enjoying ‘Voices’ I think the book needs a bit of plugging as not enough people know about it yet.

  • Katey

    I had to promise something similar to myself a few months back, which hurt… but it didn’t stop me because I just started going to the library all the time instead. No self control at all.

    Excellent list though– I think the only one I’ve read myself is Fourtold, which was a favorite of mine last year. I’d really like to check out Creeping in Reptile Flesh, though– er, in a few months. Right.

    • markdeniz

      See, going to the library will still be an option (I actually have four books out at the mo) but it’s the buying and storing that I can’t do.

      I’ll let you know about ‘Creeping’ when I’ve read it…

Leave a Reply

