The previous album of the year winners

I’ve been asked a couple of times which albums made it into the number one spot since I began this little thang I do and I thought here was the best place to put them. I was also asked when I started my ambitious album of the year challenge and I can answer 1996.

Here are the previous winners:

1996 Tori Amos – Boys for Pele
1997 There was no official winner after I found out that Eels – Beautiful Freak was released in 1996 and not 1997 as originally thought.
1998 Eels – Electro-shock Blues
1999 Blur – 13
2000 Fiona Apple – When the Pawn…
2001 Eels – Souljacker (yes, they are a favourite band)
2002 Tom Waits – Alice (my hero)
2003 Radiohead – Hail to the Thief
2004 Stina Nordenstam – The World is Saved (that kooky Swede)
2005 Patrick Wolf – Wind in the Wires
2006 Two Gallants – What the Toll Tells
2007 Editors – An End Has a Start
2008 Chad VanGaalen – Soft Airplane

So as you can see, 2009’s album will be in good company, very good company!

And for those reading my music blog, I can reveal that of those artists listed above, two of them have albums in this year’s top twenty!


About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: