Warning! Music culling in process

Over the next couple of months there are to be some heavy decisions made, whilst I compile my top 40 songs of all time list, in readiness for my 40th Birthday party in November.

Now, with it being 10th August today, and only three months until the big announcement, I felt that some heavy culling needed to be done, as I realistically want to be left with 40 tracks at the end of this month, to better enable me to organise them into the order that will be presented at the event.

So, with this in mind, I have, over the weekend, managed to get myself down from 75 tracks to a mere 50, leaving me another three weeks to slice the other ten from the list.

In no particular order, I present the 25 that have now been omitted from consideration as one of the best 40 tracks of all time. Feel free to weep, feel free to anger but be aware that this means better tracks than these remain…;)

Pillow of Winds: Pink Floyd

Wake Up: Rage Against the Machine

It’s a Sin: Pet Shop Boys

Another Day: This Mortal Coil

Harm of Will: Björk

Bells for Her: Tori Amos

I See A Darkness: Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy

The Letter: Natalie Merchant

Lenin: Under Byen

I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For: U2

Babe I’m Gonna Leave You: Led Zeppelin

Russian Literature: Maximö Park

Cathedral Heat: Kristin Hersh

Where the Heart Is: Soft Cell

I am the Resurrection: The Stone Roses

Vokuro: Björk

Easy: Faith no More

Pump up the Volume: M/A/R/R/S

The Boxer: Simon & Garfunkel

We Haven’t Turned Around: Gomez

Beat Dis: Bomb the Bass

Nothing Else Matters: Metallica

Gold Dust Woman: Fleetwood Mac

The Book: Sheryl Crow

For Emily (Wherever I may find her): Simon & Garfunkel

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

