Album of the Year 2010: Number 6

The Flaming Lips: The Flaming Lips and Stardeath and White Dwarfs with Henry Rollins and Peaches Doing The Dark Side of the Moon (Warner Bros) [9.4]

folder

And yes, it’s now time for my blasphemy spot on the top ten, knowing, as I do, quite a few of my friends’ aversions to the thing called the cover version…

Now knowing people have an aversion to cover versions and then hitting them with not only a song for song cover of an entire album but the said album being one of the finest albums of all time is only asking for trouble and for people to stop reading my music blog right here, right now (as Fatboy Slim might put it) or?

You know I’m more than happy to argue my corner on most things musical, making the odd exception for nostalgia music, but here I’m right up for the fight, you tell me when you want it and I’ll set the date…Winking smile

No, but seriously this is an absolute fucking pearl of an album, not in the nearest region of being able to clean Gilmour/Waters, et al’s shoes but that doesn’t matter. It doesn’t matter because The Flaming Lips (with assorted ensemble) have managed to cover a masterpiece and make it sound rather lovely. I know the question is why? Why bother remaking that great film, the great album, that great novel? Because we do it all the time, if we don’t quote we paraphrase, I mean we constantly hear samples of other tunes in our favourite tunes, apparently everyone has been inspired  by the beatles (lower case ALWAYS intentional there) and Shakespeare’s classic tragedies are just rip-offs of great Greek tragedies (great covers mind)…

So forget it, forget it right now and have a listen, see if it is worth one or not – you might think no but then there should be other reasons for that. Argue with your beliefs, argue with your trends, constantly, cause man, it makes for better music, you hear better stuff all the time!

So what do I like about this? Do you care? Course you do…

 

It’s not Floyd you know…stop listening…

I like it because it’s energetic, because they try things and they play around with stuff. I like it because every time I hear this album it makes me want to listen to the original again, which can be a bad sign, when you feel you need to wipe the cover from your memory, but in this case it makes me realise (as if I didn’t already) just how great the whole musical arrangement of the album is and why it’s still being hailed 37 years later. Is it still the best selling LP of all time?

It’s not going to be everyone’s cup of tea, in fact I read some abuse on the YouTube page where I got the video from, but I think it’s excellent and I’ve really enjoyed listening to it all year (it was one of the first of 2010 I got, being as it was released in December 2009).

[Remember there is a few days break now before we hit the top five on Monday 27th December – have a fantastic Christmas and see you on the other side…the light side?]

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

