Song of the Week returns in 2011

Something that I started a few years ago, and that has drifted in and out of favour on my sites, has got it’s renaissance on THE Music Reviewer and big thanks go to Ian Stackhouse for indirectly getting me started.

Basically, the song of the week is not a song released that week (or even that year) but one that has found itself stuck on my media player over the week, something that has affected me, for whatever reason.

And this week’s goes to Dave Matthews Band and Warehouse, from their debut album Under the Table and Dreaming.

 

Warehouse live in NYC

I came to the band a little late (in 1999) when a good friend bought me Before these Streets. It took me a while but I started to get into the album and counted it good enough for me to get Crash soon after. My interest dwindled a little, however and even though I have listened to most of their albums after the two mentioned above, I have not really come to the level of considering myself a fan.

Ian was amazed that I hadn’t given their first album a listen and pushed me to get hold of this one. He claimed it was worth a listen if only for Ants Marching, of course that’s not my favourite (even though I like it) and I was happily listening until Warehouse came on and made me react a little stronger.

I think where this song stands out for me initially is that the opening reminds me of The Stone, easily DMB best song, and lyrically-wise it’s an interesting track too.

Enjoy and look out for this as a regular feature this year (oh dear, just think I put the kiss of death on it now…)

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

2 responses to “Song of the Week returns in 2011

  • Ian Stackhouse

    At last! What a terrific album UTTAD is. Besides ‘Ants Marching’ and ‘Warehouse’ I adore ‘Typical Situation’, particularly the part where the flute comes in near the end – takes the song to the next level. Oh and if you love ‘The Stone’ and ‘Warehouse’ there are both included on the 2010 DMB release ‘Live in New York City’.

Leave a Reply

