30 Day Song Challenge: Day 30

Day 30: Your favourite song this time last year

So I thought this was going to be easy, as it just meant picking my favourite song of last year: The Owl and the Tanager by Sufjan Stevens yes? Well no, not really, as that didn’t come out until August 2010, and so I hadn’t even heard it had I?

But then again my favourite song this time last year is actually my favourite song of all time yes, which is covered in 30 days and it would be absolutely scandalous to release that now.

[I’m analysing too much now aren’t I?]

OK, OK, after checking my Last.fm stats (I do love my scrobbler!) I have decided to go for the song that I played once a day from about this time that was actually my song of 2009. Even though it was the studio version I picked, I do actually play the live improv. version more often (even converting this YouTube vid to an mp3 file).

Enjoy the wondrous Andrew Bird and Anonanimal


About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

2 responses to “30 Day Song Challenge: Day 30

  • Patrica Esposito

    Nice! Glad you shared this one. Love hearing acoustic, classical instruments, and an interesting mood I haven’t yet determined but fitting the weak morning sun trying to stream in.

    • Mark S. Deniz

      I’m a massive fan of Andrew Bird. He ranks very highly for me, based on that marriage of classical and modern and is part of a triumvirate of pieces I am writing (the other two subjects being Patrick Wolf and the great Sufjan Stevens).

      There’ll probably be some other acoustics as the month draws on…

Leave a Reply

