Album of the Year – 2011: The Beginning

Image

No, that’s not one of mine but the pic seemed appropriate at my lack of being able to fully organise my  album of they year charts for this year yet. Today I got my arse in gear and combined teaching administration with some good old listening and managed to confirm the eighteen albums that I would be leaving out of consideration for the year’s best album.

That leaves thirty six (at the moment) in the 70-79 category and four in both the 80-89 and 90-100 sections, so forty four albums left in the running – which is way below the usual Christmas run-in.

It might make life easier in sorting them out but makes me realise just how much I’ve missed this year and how much I need to prioritise this next year. It’s not about time, it’s about prioritising that time.

Life without music is a lot harder than with: it helps me think, work, cuts my stress and gives me a sense of well-being that a lot of other things don’t.

And so I’m off! Hopefully with news of what was given the boot later on today.

Stay tuned music peeps!

About Mark S. Deniz

English teacher, writer, editor, publisher, reviewer and blogger. Founder of publishing company, Morrigan Books and imprint, Gilgamesh Press and editor-in-chief for review site, Beyond Fiction. Also cycles, plays floorball, listens to lots and lots of music, reads a ton of books and tries to fit in some TV, film and writing too. View all posts by Mark S. Deniz

Leave a Reply

