Daily Archives: 11/08/2006

Film review

Well I attempted to put the review I’d just written on my website but it doesn’t want to play. Here is the review for your cinematic edification:

Wondering what has happened to genres we were once so aware of seems to be the order of the day when watching films and reading books. Never more apparent than in Les Wiseman’s desire to turn horror into some kind of bitch-slapping, arse-kicking, action film with the obligatory overlong love scenes thrown in.

Underworld was weak, there is no denying that, yet not as weak as many critics described it, for it brought together two of horror’s most loved icons, the vampire and the werewolf and gave them characteristics which (I felt) worked within the stereotypes built around them. The newest dish on the vampire/werewolf double menu Underworld: Evolution, leaves no doubt as to what the new horror viewers crave.

Yet I am not sure of what I mean when regards what has been lost here for surely most of the horror films on show these days would seem more in keeping with Wiseman’s films than this idealistic view I have of horror, stemming from Poe and Stoker. Has there ever been clever, well thought out horror films or is their general appeal that of action or gore or both?

I have to look back and admit that the best of the horror films over the last thirty years that have had me checking under the bed and in the wardrobe have not actually been vampire or werewolf related. Lost Highway (David Lynch) was merely (?) the journey within a deranged mind, The Devil’s Backbone (del Toro) was a wonderfully creepy ghost story and The Omen (Donner) featured none other than our number one villain of all time, the devil himself.

Thinking back to vampire and werewolf flicks, I am battered by Silver Bullet (Attias) more a coming of age film than any real attempt at dealing with the werewolf, Salem’s Lot (Hooper) one of the weakest films of recent years and Blade (Norrington) need I say more here?

But there is something that can be done with the werewolf and the vampire and I crave for a director or screenwriter to attempt one. Instead we are greeted here by a badly thought out story, with plot holes aplenty, stupidity on a grand scale and technology in the 13th Century that would make a craftsman proud today.

Yet what angered me the most in this feature was that Wiseman decided that the essential ingredient in any great vampire and werewolf flick is… yes, you’ve guessed it, bullets and lots of them. Of course you want a variety of guns, firing different bullets from different angles and at different speeds as that is why you wanted to watch a film involving two of cinema and literature’s giants isn’t it, well isn’t it?


As expected…


Brain Balance Quiz


Mostly right – You have a tendency for creativity and intuition.
Take this quiz!


Quizilla |
Join

| Make A Quiz | More Quizzes | Grab Code


The celebrations continue!

First five again:

Send me a comment with a word you love and I’ll put it into the first paragraph of your lj user name’s biography, along with the title of your book… got it?

Go for it, only five up for grabs!

I’ve been nice and let six in and so this one is done too!


Graciously donated by dingoesattack

I was reading through the news this morning and getting increasingly annoyed by the panic mongerers and then read this post which said everything as well as it could be said:

Panic Drives Human Herds


Things going on in this head of mine again…


Ten Music Videos (for a Friday)

To continue my 100 mutual friends celebrations here I present ten videos (thanks to dynamine for the idea) for your entertainment on a Friday afternoon/night/morning:

1. Joy Division: Transmission: A great video, showing Ian Curtis at his dancing best!

2. U.N.K.L.E. (featuring Thom Yorke): Rabbit in your Headlights: One of my all time videos, disturbing, beautiful music and the wonderful Thom Yorke on vocals, what more do you need?

3. Beastie Boys: Sabotage: One of the best videos ever made!

4. Massive Attack: Unfinished Sympathy: I’ve always loved this song and the video is just beautiful simplicity!

5. Björk: Big Time Sensuality: This song (and more importantly the video) pretty much made the Icelandic songstress.

6. Kristin Hersh: A Loon: Probably my favourite of Kristin’s and this is pretty much the only woman I would leave Etina for *winks*!

7. Smashing Pumpkins: Tonight, Tonight: One of my fave bands with a lovely song and video to boot!

8. Eels: Souljacker: I couldn’t pick the one I wanted and so went for rocky Eels!

9. Stina Nordenstam: Little Star: I had a few other Stina tracks in mind but this will do for today.

10. Tom Waits: What’s he Building?: My hero with one of his best to finish off!

Enjoy!


Just noticed the clock…

… which states that today should have been my mum’s wedding anniversary, she would have been married to Greg for seventeen years if this hadn’t happened:

15th January 2006

I talked to my sister about getting a card for Greg, not an anniversary card but a card to let him know we are thinking of him just now. I didn’t because I’m thinking of me, my pain, I don’t want to have to think of anyone else at this time, I know it’s wrong, as I write it but I can’t help it. I am very self-obsessive about my pain, I cradle it, I tend it…


When would be a good time to think about things like this?

I was just wondering how long it will take before I have 200 mutual friends…

… no really I was…